Open House SHINEs

This past Thursday, August 19th saw me hitting the road yet again.  I was traveling north for the SHINE exhibition, my second art show opening at the Seattle Design Center this year.

SHINE Exhibition detail, at the RISE Gallery in the Seattle Design Center. Front and center: "Knitting Meditation" by Chritsen Mattix. Back wall (alcove): Acrylic paintings by Zalman Berkowitz. Right wall: Oil paintings by Andrea Lawson.

Having juried the art show at 100th Monkey Studio the evening before, I left later than I would have liked and missed some pretty terrific events at the Seattle Design Center earlier in the day.

Armed with a stack of CDs, a few beverages and a great attitude, I made the three hour trek up I-5 North.  Of course I made a few short stops along the way to get gas and to change clothes when I was closer to my destination, but mainly focused on getting there in a timely manner – singing loudly most of the way.  🙂

Road Trip! View of Seattle from I-5 North

When I arrived, there weren’t many people – a very quiet moment during the five hour Open House.  Two of the artists were there – Dayton Knipher (one of the main organizers) and Maxine Mattson.  The food table looked inviting … veggies, cheese and crackers, some sausage, wine and beverages.  And of course the exhibition looked terrific in the 7,000 square feet of beautiful exhibition space!

Night Swim by Andrea Lawson. Oil on canvas, 30"x40". Copyright 2007 Andrea Lawson All Rights Reserved.

Though I was a bit disappointed there weren’t more people when I arrived, it was a terrific time to speak with Dayton and get better acquainted with Maxine.  Though all of the people in the exhibition are graduates of Artist Trust‘s EDGE Professional Development Program, Maxine wasn’t in my EDGE group.  We chatted, we nibbled, and we talked about art.  It was lovely!

Red Woods II by Joy Hagen, 36" x 36" diptych, encaustic and mixed media on panel. Copyright 2010 Joy Hagen, All Rights Reserved.

While we talked, more people began arriving.  Artists in the show, friends of said artists, and interior designers alike filed in.  They chatted, ate and enjoyed some wine while perusing the exhibition.

Though no one I knew personally showed up to see the show (not a big surprise on a Thursday afternoon up in Seattle), I had a wonderful time speaking with the artists and guests who were there.  It was terrific having the opportunity to get to know Joy Hagen a bit more, and I had a wonderful chance to catch up with my EDGE-mate Zalman Berkowitz.   Nothing more stimulating to me than to have a lively discussion about art and life with people who are passionate about both!

The Policy of Truth by Amy Buchheit, 16"x12", digital photography. Copyright 2009 Amy Buchheit, All Rights Reserved.

I hadn’t seen the show since it was officially hung, so I  took the time to view the exhibition myself.  There is some amazing variety in the work and great quality overall.  This is an exhibition of professional, committed artists and it shows.  I’m pleased to have my work amongst such great company!  (You can find a list of all participating artists and links to their websites below.)

Dark Showers I by Craig Alan Huber, 18"x14", Gelatin Silver Print. Copyright 2010 Craig Alan Huber, All Rights Reserved.

The SHINE Exhibition remains open through October 1st at the RISE Gallery on the second floor of the  Seattle Design Center.  Hours are 9 a.m. to 5 p.m., Monday through Friday.  Do stop by!  Stay tuned for additional events before the close of the show.

SHINE Exhibition Participating Artists

© 2010 Amy Buchheit All Rights Reserved

About Amy Buchheit

I am a Signature Member of the International Society of Acrylic Painters and an Ambassador for Artist Trust. I earned my Bachelor of Fine Arts degree from Marylhurst University and have exhibited on regional, national and international levels since 2000. I am committed to connecting with the viewer through my work - stirring buried emotions to the surface for further inspection and introspection. The inspiration for my art comes from direct observations, research of subjects I am passionate about and personal experiences. For more information about my art, workshops and exhibitions, visit my website at http://www.amybuchheit.com. My blog "Fantastic Voyage" can be found at http://www.amybuchheit.wordpress.com, and I can be found on Facebook under Amy Buchheit Art and on Twitter as @AmyBuchheit.
This entry was posted in Art Work, exhibitions, Openings, Receptions, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Open House SHINEs

  1. Pingback: Why Does Art Cost So Much? (Part Five – Getting the Work Seen) « Fantastic Voyage

Leave a Reply

