The Sunlit Path

sunlit path

Image by selena lynn via Flickr

2:00 a.m. – Time for my first musing on life.  🙂

I am finding that after three years of pain, longing and grief following a divorce, my father’s death and a car accident, I am ready to reach out, to expand the horizons of my communities and interests again.  I had started to feel like my world shrank around me into a much-needed protective cocoon.   It served me well when I needed it.  Now, like a butterfly I am breaking through that shell, crawling out on the edge with my crumpled wings, allowing the gentle breeze to dry them and the blood to flow -stretching, taking those tentative first flaps and preparing to fly.

I am pursing things that interest me again … things that can potentially put me in touch with new communities and expand my world into places I might not have expected just a few years ago.

I recently started flute lessons, having received one as a graduation gift after 20 years having not played at all (thank you again, Julie and Keith!).  Today I found a community of flautists of all experience levels that meet up and play sometimes.  How interesting!

I also checked into joining a choir (did you know I like to sing?).  I decided that beginning flute lessons  and choir practice might be too much in combination, but have that possibility in my back pocket for spring.  Other enticing possibilities hang laden on branches all around me, waiting for me to pluck them and give them a taste.  Which shall I choose next?

As I approach my 43rd birthday, leaving behind a landscape of what recently looked like a ruined life, I am filled with faith and wonder again.  I am grateful as I emerge from the overgrown, root-bound path behind me and emerge into the wide, well tended, sunlit path ahead.  I look forward to new adventures, and am grateful you are here on this journey.  Thank you for joining me!

About Amy Buchheit

I am a Signature Member of the International Society of Acrylic Painters and an Ambassador for Artist Trust. I earned my Bachelor of Fine Arts degree from Marylhurst University and have exhibited on regional, national and international levels since 2000. I am committed to connecting with the viewer through my work - stirring buried emotions to the surface for further inspection and introspection. The inspiration for my art comes from direct observations, research of subjects I am passionate about and personal experiences. For more information about my art, workshops and exhibitions, visit my website at http://www.amybuchheit.com. My blog "Fantastic Voyage" can be found at http://www.amybuchheit.wordpress.com, and I can be found on Facebook under Amy Buchheit Art and on Twitter as @AmyBuchheit.
This entry was posted in Exploration, Journey, Life, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

